Pan Borneo Highway Sarawak 89% completed

Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah

KUCHING: The progress of the Pan Borneo Highway Sarawak (PBHS) project has achieved 89 per cent completion as of October this year.

Deputy Premier Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas said seven sections of the projects are fully completed and open for public use.

“The seven sections of the PBHS are the Telok Melano to Sematan Section; Serian Section; Batang Rajang Bridge Section; Julau Section; Nyabau Flyover Section; Pujut Section and Selangau Section,” he said.

Uggah, who is also the Minister of Infrastructure and Port Development, said this when delivering his winding-up speech at the State Legislative Assembly (DUN) sitting yesterday (Dec 1).

Uggah added the remaining sections are at various stages of implementation and are expected to be 95 per cent completed by next year with the rest to be ready by 2024.

“The PBHS is a mega project with various implementation challenges.

As the project nears its completion, our utmost priority will be the safety of the new road users,” he said.

PBHS, the Sarawak-Sabah Link Road (SSLR), and the Trans Borneo Highway (LTB) are among the federal approved projects in the state.

As for the SSLR project, Uggah said Phase 1 of the road from Simpang Gelugus to Long Lopeng, Lawas with a total length of 77km, is currently under construction.

“This project is showing good progress and Phase 1 is expected to be completed by the first quarter of 2026,” he said.

As for the SSLR Phase 2 which is divided into four packages – Package 1 (Mulu to Long Seridan); Package 2 (Long Seridan to Nanga Medamit); Phase 3 (Long Lopeng to Long Komap); and Package 4 (Rumah Aling to Long Merarap), Uggah said the project is currently in the planning stage and construction works are expected to start in the third quarter of next year.

On the Trans Borneo Highway project, he said the project which is to upgrade the existing road network to dual carriageways connecting Sarawak and Sabah with Brunei Darussalam with a total road length of 96.3km is divided into three sections.