Monday, December 5, 2022

10 locations in Sarawak to undergo poverty eradication programme

Secara Rawak

KUCHING: Ten locations in Sarawak have been chosen for Phase 1 of the Keluarga Malaysia poverty eradication (BMTKM) programme, says Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Economy), Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed.

“Eighty locations throughout the country, including 10 in Sarawak, have been identified for Phase 1, which is scheduled to start at the end of May,” he said in a statement after the poverty eradication programme held at Kampung Seberang Sebuyau yesterday.

“The 10 locations in Sarawak are Gedong; Kampung Seberang Sebuyau, Sebuyau; Kampung Bakong, Lingga; Long Kajang, Belaga; Kampung Spaoh, Betong; Baram/Ulu Tinjar, Pakan, Lawas, Daro and Telang Usan.”

According to the statement, Mustapa said BMTKM had adopted a bottom-up approach, involving the participation of grassroots and target groups.

He added that the approach to solve poverty would differ for each locality according to the needs of the area.

‘’The Economic Plan Unit (EPU), Prime Minister’s Department (JPM) and Implementation Coordination Unit (ICU), JPM are the two agencies involved in the BMTKM programme.

Besides that, the BMTKM programme also collaborated with public universities, private sector, community organisations, community leaders and several others.

He also pointed out that the Regional Corridor Development Authority (RECODA) would play a key role as the coordinator in Sarawak.

“Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (Unimas) will supervise the BMTKM programme.

‘’Unlike previous poverty eradication programmes, BMTKM has a clear exit policy after two to three years.

“The focus will continue to be on Sarawak, which records the highest poverty rate in the country, at 9.0 per cent in 2019 compared to the national poverty rate of 5.6 per cent.

‘’The goal of the BMTKM programme is to achieve zero poverty rate by 2025, set out in the 12th Malaysia Plan (12MP).”

Ikuti Facebook Kami

Artikel Terbaru