KUCHING: Entries for the 32nd edition of the Kenyalang Journalism Awards are now open for submission.

The awards will be held at Hilton Hotel Kuching on the evening of November 6, 2020.
This year, the entry period for submission has been extended from January 1, 2019 up to August 15, 2020 as opposed to the traditional one-year period.

“This extension is to allow the media in Sarawak to submit articles published up to August 15, which gives them more opportunities to submit articles published during this Covid-19
pandemic,” said Federation of Sarawak Journalist Association (FSJA) president for 2020/2021 Jacqueline David.

The categories for article submission this year include the Chief Minister Award, Journalism
Award (Feature and News Feature), News Reporting Award, Sports Reporting Award,
Sustainability Journalism Award, Business and Economic Journalism Award, Community Wellbeing and Rural Development Journalism Award, and the Digital Economy Journalism Award.

The article categories are further divided into Bahasa Melayu, English, Chinese and Iban

As for broadcast media and photography, categories include Broadcast Journalism Award, Photo Journalism Award, and Photography Essay Award. The gold sponsors this year are the Sarawak State Government, Petronas, Sarawak Energy and Sarawak Shell Bhd.

This year, entry forms will be charged at RM5 per form and are available for purchase from your local media associations.

Members of the Kuching Division Journalists Association please contact Ronnie Teo at 016-882-3110 or Chong Kho Lee at 012-822-4883, Northern Sarawak Journalists Association to contact Andy Jong 014-590-2562, Sibu Journalists Association to contact Hii Hong Wee at 013-811-5531 and Institute of Rajang Journalists to contact Yek Choo Eng at 012-889-6361.

Submissions are to be sent to the Malaysian Press Institute before the final date of August 31, 2020.