KUCHING:  Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) Youth central chief, Michael Tiang said in the coming 14th General Election, SUPP will join forces with all the Barisan Nasional (BN) component parties to show BN’s unity and commitment in contesting all the seats allocated to each BN component party.

However,  he  stressed, for a BN component party to join force with any political party outside BN is out of question.

Tiang was responding to Dr. Chou Chii Ming’s statement to urge SUPP and United People’s Party (UPP) to emulate MCA-Gerakan joining forces at a unity assembly last week.

He added that recently there were repeated statements released in the press to urge SUPP and UPP to merge or to join force.

“I would also like to tirelessly repeatedly point out that UPP is not a BN component party. None of BN component parties can join or merge with them. For example, if Democratic Action Party (DAP) wants to join force with BN, the DAP leaders have to join a BN component party, not merger,” he said in the statement.

He added, as according to the solution offered by our Sarawak BN Chairman to those who left SUPP during his speech at SUPP’s Triennial Delegates Convention on 23rd last month was simply: “Come Back to SUPP!”

“ I don’t see how confusion can arise from those four words!” “There are no technical issues or whatsoever for those who are outside BN to join SUPP as claimed by some. It’s just a matter of filling up our membership application forms available at every SUPP branch all over Sarawak.” Tiang said.

Tiang disagreed with Dr. Chou that for a BN component party to join force with a non BN component party is considered as unity.

“Why the issue of unity is always brought up by UPP every time an election is near? Let me urge those who left SUPP to join TERAS and UPP, the only real united political pact is Barisan Nasional and the only meaningful unity for those who left SUPP is to join SUPP, and together we fight for a stronger Sarawak,” he said.

Tiang  said during the BN Supreme Council Meeting held on 3rd January a consensus was made that all seats belong to BN component parties.